Movie Review

Movie Review: Dead Poets Society

It’s my first time ever writing about a movie but this isn’t any movie, this is Dead Poets Society. I bet many of you already heard of “Carpe Diem”, am I wrong? If you did, most of the times you recognize and connect it with this movie.

John Keating

Ages passed since the last time I’ve watched Dead Poets Society, released in 1989 by Tom Schulman. Starring Robin Williams as a teacher named John Keating, Ethan Howke as Tom Anderson and Robert Sean Leonard as Neil Perry, among many other characters.

The movie is about a new English teacher, John Keating, who starts working at Welton Academy, an all-male, elite prep school. This is a very strict traditional and with high standards academy, so Keating’s class are caught by surprise when they meet the teacher for the first time with such unorthodox teaching methods. These are young boys who constantly are pressured by their parents or from school, so John encourages his students to think of their own and do what they love. “Carpe Diem”, a latin expression, is what he tells them, to make their own life extraordinary, to “seize the day”.

Someone like him will leave a huge impact in some of his students’ lives, especially in Neil, who follows his dreams of being an actor against his father’s will and in Todd, whom boy is so timid that he doesn’t has the courage to speak in from of his classmates nor his friends.

Keating wanted his apprentices to called him by “Captain” from “O Captain! My Captain!” from a metaphoric poem written by Walt Whitman related to the death of the President of the USA, Abraham Lincoln. He teaches us that English classes aren’t always boring but it depends how you look at it. One thing I’ve learn is that you don’t just simply hate a subject, you just never had a good teacher.

With no doubt John was the most important character – for me – in this movie. He taught me that sometimes we look at poetry the wrong way, we try to follow all the rules of how to read poetry when in reality you don’t, you MUSTN’T, do that because poetry is meant to felt.

This is so far my favorite movie of all times, regardless it’s sad ending. It’s known as a huge success and winner of the following awards: BAFTA Award for Best Film, César Award and David di Donatello Award for Best Foreign Film. Also Tom Schulman, the creator, received an Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay for his work.

If you haven’t seen this movie, you have to make sure you see it as possible as you can because you will not regret it.

Neil Perry

 

Todd Anderson
What are your opinions about this movie?

Thank you for reading and…

See you in the next post!

 

Social Media:

INSTAGRAM || TWITTER || PINTEREST || YOUTUBE || Email me: welcometomymessyworld@outlook.pt



cats

4 thoughts on “Movie Review: Dead Poets Society

  1. I’m so glad you are back blogging! I missed you and was worried. I love this blog post so much. I watched a bit of this movie but I should watch it until the end 💜Sounds like an awesome movie and I love the quotes

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know I disappeared for a while, I guess I needed to… But I’m back!
      Thank you so much for your nice comment. And you should finish the movie,it’s amazing! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment